Living on a Budget

This semester, I have been trying very hard to stick to a tight budget. More so than ever before. I have come to realize how difficult it can be to pay for rent, food, cell phone bills, etc. Along with this, I like to have extra money set aside for fun activities, clothes, drinks, and more. I have definitely struggled with spending habits in the past, but I feel as though having more responsibility has made me smarter with my money. I know that many college students face the same problems, and a lot of us are pretty tight on money. So, here are some tips that I have found to be helpful over the years.

  • Write out all of your future expenses for the semester. This includes rent, utilities, groceries, any other possible bills, etc
  • If you have a job, estimate about how much you plan to make, and how much you will be putting towards the necessary expenses.
  • Decide how much you plan to spend on groceries every week. Know that there are ways to eat cheap…for example, make pasta and you can have three or four different meals that week. Soup and sandwiches are always a good option too.
  • Make a budget each month for “fun money” such as going out to eat, buying drinks, clothes, and anything else you may choose to spend your money on.
  • Write down what you spend, and stick to the budget. It is extremely easy to spend too much on going out to eat, for example, before you realize it’s too late. If you keep track throughout the month, it will help curb your spending habits.
  • Personally, I have trouble spending too much money on clothes. So, have fun with the clothes you own, or borrow something from a friend. I like to hold off on buying clothes when I’m away at school, then treat myself to a couple of new things when I come home.
  • Know your limits. Don’t spend more than you have, and live according to your lifestyle.

Leave a comment