Why I feel Strongly About Helping Those Living in Poverty

546459_211203408997918_1791851157_n

I have a soft spot in my heart for those in need. I love to help people, and I think that it is one of the most satisfying aspects of life. Global poverty has always been very intriguing to me. First off, I have always loved learning about different cultures and ways of life. I love traveling, and exploring new places. It is shocking to see how many people live in poverty, and really gives me motivation to make a difference.

When I was in high school, I went on a 2-week mission trip to Tijuana, Mexico. While there, I helped build houses for those living in poverty. I was shocked to see what poor conditions these families lived in. I had never seen anything like it before. Yet, they were so happy and thankful.

Last summer I did an internship through a non-profit, Construction for Change. CfC works to raise money to build shelters, medical facilities, schools, and more in developing countries. They have worked throughout Asia, Africa, and even in Seattle. It was an amazing experience to be a part of fundraising, promoting, and more to help benefit such a wonderful cause.

Helping those who live in poverty doesn’t have to take place across the globe. This Christmas my friend and I plan to buy a lot of pizzas and go to downtown Seattle to give them out to those living on the streets. I think that every small act can make someones life a little bit better. We just have to work together to truly make a difference.

Leave a Reply

