Why Halloween was Better as a Child

Holidays seem to drastically change the older I become. I really miss Halloween when I was kid! It was more about the actual holiday then simply partying and wearing revealing costumes. This is why Halloween was better as a child.

Trick-or-Treating – Halloween was just never the same once I stopped going trick-or-treating. There is something so fun about dressing up, and having your parents take you and your friends or siblings around the neighborhood as soon as it gets dark. I would always know what houses had the best decorations, scariest props, or gave out the best candy. As soon as I was too old for trick-or-treating, it was kind of the same feeling I had when I found out Santa wasn’t real.

Class Parties – I used to love going to school on Halloween. Everyone dressed up, even the teachers. We would have the best class parties. I loved bobbing for apples and trying to eat the powdered donut off a string! My elementary even set up a haunted house, which was always fun (and really scary at the time!)

Trading Candy – I remember my brother and I would dump out our entire bag of candy as soon as we got home from trick-or-treating. It was always so exciting to see what kind of candy I got, then make deals and trades with my brother.

Creative Costumes – Costumes were actually more fun and creative.  You didn’t have to worry about looking cute, as long as you had an interesting costume. Now, it feels as though you have to make any costume you were somewhat sexy.

Decorating with the Family – Of course I am still able to decorate, but I miss being home with my family to help them decorate. I love the feeling of taking out all of the Halloween decorations, which bring back a little bit of nostalgia.

Leave a Reply

