Irrational Fears of Mine

I like to think that, generally, I am not afraid of a lot of things. And even if I am I try my best to get over them. But, I definitely have a few major fears in life. I have recently been thinking about some of my fears due to the fact that I need to go to the doctors to get a flu shot. Of course, I will probably end up putting this off for another month or so just because I cannot get myself to go in and get the shot already!

I have a few big fears, and one of them is anything blood and needle related. Like I said, I am terrified of shots. It is nearly impossible for me to get a shot without crying. I need to have someone there with me to distract me and hold my hand. Even going to the doctor or dentist makes me extremely anxious and nervous. Once I cried from getting my blood pressure done (even worse, this was only a year or two ago). And I have had to get laughing gas at the dentist multiple times. I can’t deal with blood either. One time a friend of mine had a bad cut and got blood on the wall. I accidentally touched the blood and ran away screaming and crying. Even thinking about needles and blood makes me feel sick to my stomach. I just really need to get over myself sometimes.

One of my other fears is guns. I’m not really sure why they scare me so much. I have always been sensitive to loud noises. I even cover my ears when fireworks go off on the fourth of July. There is just something about guns that terrifies me. When I was younger my brother would pretend to shoot fake guns at me, and I remember running away from him, yelling and screaming. Maybe one day I’ll have the courage to shoot a real gun!

My last fear, which isn’t quite as bad as the first two, is heights. I get extremely anxious flying, for example. I’ve recently found that a glass or two of wine definitely helps with this though! I’m proud of myself for facing my fear of heights, and not letting it hold me back. There are many things in life I have done that involve somewhat of extreme heights, and it’s always worth it. Now, I just need to get over my other fears!

Even though I may be scared of some things that people find ridiculous, I have to say that I’m very proud to admit that I’ve never been scared of bugs or spiders, which always seems to surprise people!

Leave a Reply

