My Weekend Away

IMG_2521

Last weekend I decided to go home to spend time with my family. Usually, I would not go home this early in the semester, but for some odd reason I was feeling unusually homesick. As soon as I was home my parents wanted to go to this Irish pub in Seattle that my dad would frequent in his college days. As we sat at bar stools near a window covered in ivy, I realized how happy I was. I realized that the time away from home has made me appreciate my family more than ever before. It makes me sick to my stomach thinking about all of the times I was a brat around my parents throughout my junior high and high school years. I think that college has helped me mature more than anything. I truly enjoy being around my parents. I enjoy talking to them about more personal things in my life, I enjoy going shopping with my mom, I enjoy grabbing a beer with my dad, and I enjoy doing hilarious random things with my little brother. Over the summer my family and I took day trips together, went on hikes, and even did the color run. These are some of the fondest memories from my summer, and they have made me so thankful to have such a wonderful family. Last weekend, I spent nearly all of my time with my family, and that is exactly how I wanted it to be. We went out to eat multiple times, went shopping, toured a chocolate factory, walked around the city, and so much more. So, thank you mom and dad. Thank you for wanting to take me to that Irish pub, and helping me realize how much I love spending time with you. I love having a family who always wants to try new and exciting things. I wouldn’t have my sense of adventure if it weren’t for you, mom and dad, and I truly love every moment we get to spend together
.

Leave a Reply

