Acceptance of Others

My mom taught me many important life lessons when I was younger. To this day, the one thing that has stuck with me through all of these years is that everyone is different, and the importance of accepting everyone for who they are. I become very frustrated when people judge others for the way they look and dress, the decisions they make, and simply how they decide to live their life. I feel that everyone is entitled to their own opinion, but it is not always necessary to express your opinion about how someone else decides to live his or her life. I catch myself judging people subconsciously, and I have been very aware of stopping myself. This is a very generic topic that I find frustrating, yet it has great importance. Personally, I try very hard to see the best in people. This is not always the best route to go, but I think that it helps in understanding why someone may act a certain way. My mom always said that you never know what may be going on in someone’s life. Maybe they just lost a grandparent, or broke up with their boyfriend. Everyone has off days, and I think that it is very important to be understanding of that. I enjoy meeting new people, learning about different cultures, traditions, and how people choose to live their lives. Not everyone has the same belief of what may be right. I think if we were all just a little more accepting, with the desire to learn about differences in the people around us , the world would be a much better place.

Leave a Reply

